Hail, The Film Industry!

Alex Rodriguez (19) has been a good friend of mine for almost five years now. I was very eager to interview him since I’ve always been a huge fan of his words and insight. Alex is studying International Affairs – Conflict Resolution at the Elliott School of International Affairs at George Washington University. In this interview, he discusses a movie that’s been on my list for awhile now and he definitely did not disappoint. fullsizerender-2


Q: What movie would you like to talk about today?

A: I selected for my movie Hail, Caesar! by the Coen brothers.

Q: Do you remember the first time you watched this movie?

A: If I recall correctly, I watched this movie for the first time in March 2016. Me and two of my friends had set aside a night to make a trek to the movies, which was a considerable distance from us. We had all seen the trailer at 10 Cloverfield Lane, and knew that we had to see this one.

Q: What made you choose this movie for this interview?

A: I chose this movie because it’s a callback to the magic of early Hollywood, both in setting and in style. From a young age, I’ve been interested in the pop culture of the mid-twentieth century and I felt that this movie would be the closest thing to actually seeing one of those legendary pictures from the 50’s.

Q: What about early Hollywood interested you as a kid?

A: I would say the atmosphere of the films as well as the film production. I think that Hail, Caesar! conveys a timeless humor and sensibility. At one point, Eddie Mannix, Josh Brolin’s character, describes the film that he’s making as “first-class in every respect.” Class as well as taste is important to his character and his studio, which I think is exemplary of that era of Hollywood. I feel that it has a subtlety and an understated tone that is still present, but not prominent, in modern cinema.

Q: Can you give me a brief synopsis of the movie?

A: Eddie Mannix faces challenges, both personal and professional, while working to further several films produced by Capitol Pictures. These include the transition from Western to Drama of Hobie Doyle, a character in the style of Roy Rogers, as well as the jeopardization of a DeeAnna Moran’s musical swimming piece. However, his main conflicts consist of rescuing superstar Baird Whitlock from kidnappers, and considering whether to leave his magical, but hectic, Hollywood career in exchange for a more stable position with Lockheed.

Q: What scene affected you the most?

A: Eddie Mannix is a very efficient man. His job as the Head of Physical Production involves putting out a lot of fires and managing emergencies of various natures coolly and dispassionately. However, in one moment, Mannix comes to a realization about himself and his relation to movies while whipping an actor into shape. As he lambastes the actor, he realizes why he continues to work for Capitol Pictures and why he fits there better than at Lockheed. It is, for two characters and the story, a well-presented climax. I empathized with Mannix’s epiphany and felt that he was a more whole character after the scene. Although the scene isn’t necessarily filled with action, it nevertheless feels like a visceral and triumphant return for Eddie; like watching someone wake up without having realized they were sleeping.

Q: Has the movie changed you in any way?

A: I feel like movie characters whom I look up to inform my methods and outlook on life. As someone who cares deeply about bringing art to America, doing his job well, and his family, Eddie Mannix is definitely someone I look up to. His poise and tact in dealing with the very different issues he faces daily are traits that I aspire to. The film also reaffirmed my love for old-style physical comedy, word play, as well as witty dialogue. Eddie Mannix’s job demands a lot of his time and energy, but he persists because “the picture has worth.” The idea of making sacrifices for the good of a bigger cause, as he does, also resonated with me.

Q: What makes this movie different from other movies you’ve seen?

A: The setting and characters set Hail, Caesar! apart for me. I think I love the movie in large part because it’s about logistics, and all the work that goes toward the finished film. In addition, because it’s set in the 50’s, a lot of the issues Mannix’s has to deal with wouldn’t be present in modern times — for instance, DeeAnna Moran’s pregnancy. I think that Mannix is a rare sort of character who has solutions to almost every problem he encounters, but still has engaging conflicts with himself and with his work. The Coen brothers portray him as effective, but not impervious, so it’s still interesting to watching him.

Q: How do you think this movie contributes to the audience’s perception of Hollywood and films, in general?

A: Honestly, the film is informative regarding Hollywood history and the roots of modern Hollywood. Although it’s far removed from the present day, I do believe the film’s behind-the-scenes focus still portrays, if not the nature, then certainly the number of crises that arise in making the gigantic enterprise that is a film.

Q: Why do you think it’s important for people to continue making movies?

A: There’s a scene in Hail, Caesar! in which Eddie Mannix meets with representatives of four different religions or denominations. He tells them that “For millions of people, pictures will be their reference point for the story [of Christ].” I believe that for a number of subjects the same is true today in Hollywood. Films like The Big Short and Recount dramatize and explain actual events to the public and give people that same reference point for such important events as the 2008 financial crisis and the 2000 election controversy. But beyond giving people knowledge of the real world, movies can inspire and move and open people to new ideas and exciting possibilities. I mentioned earlier that Mannix displayed several attributes that I value myself. The same is true for other characters in film, who can serve as role models to millions, even in the absence of actual people.


I am lucky to call Alex my friend, and I’m even luckier to talk to him about the things I love; he has endless pools of passion just like me. Truth be told, there was no better way to wrap up my interviews for this blog assignment than to talk to Alex about one of his favorite movies. It was the perfect final interview, seeing as the movie was about the film industry itself. This was an incredibly enjoyable interview for me especially, because it encapsulates the struggles of working in the film industry. I quickly grew to love this movie and its protagonist, Eddie Mannix, because he allowed me, just a college student with a make-it-big kind of dream, to jump into the cruel, fast-paced world of making movies. hail-caesar_img

Coincidentally, my Introduction to Mass Communications course at school has finally entered the film chapter and our lesson began with the history of old Hollywood, making this interview even more perfect. It was interesting to see this movie depict that time in movie history and the behind-the-scenes workings of the creation of the studio’s films.

Alex discussed Mannix’s character thoroughly throughout his interview, which made me wonder about the power of a protagonist. More often than not, an audience will form an attachment to a movie’s protagonist, wishing them well on their adventures and personal growth. I felt similarly about Mannix, except that I had no doubt in my mind that he’d be okay in the end. Just as Alex put it, “Eddie Mannix is a very efficient man.” He’s a character you can depend on, and he taught me a lot just by doing what he does best: Directing a Hollywood studio.

The scene that affected Alex the most was incidentally the scene that affected me the most. It was powerful, to say the least. Mannix, infuriated by superstar Baird Whitlock’s arrogance, gives a speech that had the voice inside my head whispering excitedly, “Yes, yes, yes!”  He says, “You’re gonna give the speech [for Hail, Caesar!] at the feet of the penitent thief and you’re gonna believe every word you say. You’re gonna do it because you’re an actor and that’s what you do. Just like the director does what he does, and the writer and the script girl and the guy who claps the slate. You’re gonna do it because the picture has worth and you have worth if you serve the picture and you’re never gonna forget that again.”

It gave me chills, quite honestly. It affected me because, whether or not Mannix meant that the picture’s worth lies in its financial value, he was talking about the career I want to pursue. His words were jumping out at me, gripping me by the arms and saying, “Do it. Make movies.” As this movie so obviously suggests, working in the film industry is not an easy thing. It is stressful and chaotic, yet magical and fulfilling. The picture has worth, and that’s a very simple concept to understand for a person who finds worth in the stories they are telling.

This was a perfect final interview to cover for this blog assignment because it’s a story about making movies. I never believed this career path to be easy. In fact, I anticipate it to be just as complicated as that which this movie portrays. It’s not just playing make-believe in costumes and makeup with lights and microphones and cameras. It’s messy, or as Hobie Doyle puts it, “It’s complicated.”

“Would that it were so simple.” – Laurence Laurentz


This was my final interview post for my Fundamentals of Online and Digital Media class at Texas State University, but I will hopefully continue interviewing people about movies in the future. Thank you so much, Alex, for participating in this. You can watch the trailer for Hail, Caesar! here. For post announcements and blog updates, follow me on Twitter. If you’d like to be interviewed for this blog, please feel free to contact me here.

Additional Information →

Hail, Caesar! (2016)

Directed by: Ethan & Joel Coen

Written by: Ethan & Joel Coen

Starring: Josh Brolin, George Clooney, Ralph Fiennes, Tilda Swinton, Scarlett Johansson, Alden Ehrenreich

 

Leave a comment