Why Are You Here?

On December 1, 2016, Texas State University students stood and chanted in the Quad, protesting the recent social threats on campus as well as the possible elimination of the DACA program under Trump’s administration. I took photos of some of the protestors and asked them, “Why are you here?” Their responses are captioned under their photos. Thank you, all who participated in this. If you’d like to send a message to the Associated Student Government at Texas State, click here to access their Facebook page. I chose to cover this story, although it is not related to film, because I believe it’s important to tell stories like this. This is a story that matters. This is a story about change.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

These are the captions in order of appearance:

  1. “We’re here to ask Texas State to turn the campus into a sanctuary campus.” – Alondra Saucedo
  2. The petition to make Texas State University a sanctuary campus states, “Our vision of a sanctuary campus involves actively and vigilantly protecting Texas State University’s most vulnerable populations through administrative policies.” It focuses on protecting students in the DACA program under the president-elect’s new administration.
  3. “The election really broke my heart. I felt like hate won. Everyone has a right to an American education and to feel safe.” – Amira
  4. “I’m here because I grew up in Houston and a lot of my friends were from undocumented families. Education is what you need and no one should feel scared that it could be jeopardized. Education is a fundamental right.” – Ray Flinn
  5. “I’m here because people don’t feel safe anymore, especially on college campuses. People are afraid because they’re different.” – De’Ja Wilson
  6. “I’m not undocumented, but I know undocumented people. I have to be here to show them my support.” – Jose
  7. “I’m here because I have a lot of friends from the Valley and I know their personal stories. I’m here because it’s not fair. It breaks my heart.” – Stephanie Perez
  8. “I believe everyone is entitled to an education and to feel safe. We are currently in a situation where many people don’t feel that way. There are a lot of people that feel like no one’s fighting for them.” – Anna Konditi
  9. “Because I have to be. Because it matters.” – Samantha

Leave a comment